Skip to content

Necklace – 100 Hours Of Prayer

8 Nov 2006

Judy’s Favorite Necklace - 100 Hours of PrayerThis necklace is my first adventure in peyote stitch. I decided I wanted to learn peyote stitch, so I downloaded some directions from the web and taught myself circular peyote. I used green iris seed beads and golden teardrops from my local craft store along with my all-time-favorite Czech glass druks that are clear with a partial dark blue AB coating.I started out to make a necklace that was a single circular peyote tube with some dangles on it. Well, those beads had a mind of their own. The necklace just wouldn’t lie right and folded up in the middle. So I stabilized the middle of the necklace by stitching a second tubular layer of peyote stitch over the first, where I’d attached the dangles. I then had to add another row of teardrop fringe to balance the front.

Because one tubular strand of peyote looked skimpy with two layers of fringe, I doubled the length of the tubular peyote on each side. Late one night, I folded the tubes and attached each end back into the stabilized fringe area. The next morning, when I went to put it on, I discovered a problem. I had attached the ends so I had two long U -shaped loops rather than two circles to slip over my head.

claspHow was I going to wear the necklace? I fashioned a button closure with three strands featuring my favorite druks and a glass foil bead I had in my stash. For the loop end, I worked circular peyote. TA DA!! All in all, I calculate that I spent about 100 hours of prayer on this necklace, considering that my top “beading speed” was 1½ inches of peyote in 15 minutes.

My favorite bracelet and earrings

Of course, once the necklace was done, I had to have earrings and a bracelet to wear with it – you can’t just have one part of the set.

 

 

 

 

My hair is long, and I often hold it back with a headband (so people can see the earrings 🙂 ). When, I found four whole strands of my favorite druks, I wire-wrapped them onto a headband from the local dollar store.

headband

About 6 weeks later, my 13-year-old son was at the dollar store and bought me some slip-on sandals that had cheap beadwork on a plastic grid. shoes02
You guessed it! I ripped off the old beads and am halfway finished redecorating my sandles.

One Comment leave one →
  1. 17 Feb 2012 14:14

    Fantastic design and workmanship! You have clearly been blessed in oh so many ways! Thank you for sharing this with the rest of us

Leave a comment